Out of Her Head

RMPhappyhourcartoon

THE SCENE: Crowd of long-time friends, all GFs, all wearing great shoes, all have been starving themselves for the day so each may eat whatever the hell she wishes.

The real power of a person is in the size of the smile of the person sitting next to them.

Lovely sentiment, Bren. However, it might be most appealing to someone who is a people -pleaser; which I have been my entire life. Now I’m aware when someone sitting beside me makes ME smile.

Uh, oh. I think we aren’t supposed to need someone to make us smile. Co-dependency support groups are at the next table.

Wait a minute. My shelf of self-help bookshelf is depleted.  I keep handing my books out to my newly divorced women friends.  I thought we are supposed to figure these things out by now? WTF.

Hon, as soon as we figure this out someone will publish another book assigning blame to our mothers or The Pill.

Maybe some man writing another self-help book for women will tell us to go dance in the firelight, naked, and all will be revealed.

.

Agree. Avoid Paulo Coelho. She puts her hand to her forehead and makes the letter L.

.
#for Reticent Mental Property. Image from cafepress.com. And a nod to The Birth of The Pill: How Four Crusaders Reinvented Sex and Launched a Revolution by Jonathan Eig and The Second Sex by Simone De Beauvoir.

5 thoughts on “Out of Her Head

  1. I’m the one in the green dress, reaching for the peanut butter cookie with the chocolate kiss on top. I’m making you smile and you are making me smile — it’s a lovely party, who needs a self-help book? Let’s just “be”. XO

    Like

Reply to Ret

