Reticent Mental Property

FEED My MIND: Adventure. Learn. Live. Write.

Breaking in

pinterest6

Protected, gated, both barred and bared, sheltered and shut down was my heart.

In the years we explored together I learned a new language, the one spoken in lore and valleys that sweep down from mountains and in old books with spines worn and shared with the best of friends.

I’ve taken the liberty of listening to your heart, the beat, the rhythms, the pounding  of the ocean of laughter coursing through your veins. I’ve toasted the sunsets after the colors are faded from the horizon and missed the dawn while I’ve recovered, resting my head in the cradle of your chest.

I know what I have to do; and have always done. I steer toward the moral center and pray my risk is rewarded with affirmations of choosing reckless peace instead of practical progress.

And I realize I have not been moved to prayer in such a long, long time.

I’m either reborn in this mature crossroads or I am an infant in the story of my decline.

I can handle this. I can handle me. I can.

.

“Carry on my wayward son. There’ll be peace when you are done. Set your weary head to rest. Don’t you cry no more. ” Kansas, 1976. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2X_2IdybTV0

 

9 comments on “Breaking in

  1. Marty
    August 2, 2016

    You can handle anything

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael
    August 3, 2016

    Love the duality of the moment. A very enjoyable read and great song pairing😊

    Like

    • Ret MP
      August 3, 2016

      I just watched a documentary of Kansas and learned so much about the songwriting process and the power of the audience connection. This “son” is carrying on.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Michael
        August 3, 2016

        Kansas was a great band. Classic rock and singer-songwriters of the 70’s are my musical sweet spot. The connection with the audience is something we probably experience (on a smaller scale) when writing and sharing posts. The reaction and comments are a big part of my experience as it is for most I suspect.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ret MP
          August 3, 2016

          I enjoy songwriting for the complexities of emotions invoked and deep character development accomplished with few words.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. dievca
    August 7, 2016

    Excellent choice in song. Something that applies to many people, many lives at one point or another. Perhaps the rebirth and demise are constantly occurring – one stronger than the other at any moment. Yin and Yang?

    Like

    • Ret MP
      August 7, 2016

      I certainly hope that is the case. Waiting. Living. Wait. Live. Wait. Live…

      Liked by 1 person

Reply to Ret

Information

This entry was posted on August 2, 2016 by in music, Relationships, writing and tagged , , , , .
